No Apologizing

"But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect." 1 Peter 3:15

Speed reading and other thoughts


Well I am a 10 days into the G90X experiment and I am already 3 days behind.  My wife…4.  Trying to read that much material, with a full time job, with two kids, and maintain a relationship is…difficult.  I am beginning to wonder whether or not I am actually gaining anything from reading the Bible so fast.  I love to read, but on important material…love to read slow, and study it.  I do not have that luxury with this plan so far.  Maybe 90 days is too aggressive for me personally.

I have not even started to memorize the bible verses yet.  I keep saying that I am going to get to it, but…in reality I am so focused on speed reading the Bible that it has taken a second seat.  So I guess from that perspective I am 10 days behind. 

My prayer life really hasn’t changed.  I can honestly say that I am prayer a lot.  I am not sure that it would fit into focused prayer, but it is prayer.  Even now I pray as to whether this type of forthrightness is the right thing to do.  In this since, I would probably say that I am probably 115 minutes of focused prayer behind.

I wonder of this type of schedule is too aggressive.  It reminds me of someone who wants to hurry up and get it done as opposed to someone who wants to take their time to get it right.  As I have been told a number of times…I don’t want it done, I want it done right.  What good is building a relationship with God if it is a hurry up and get it done mentality?  Relationships take time. Studying takes time. 

I will continue to plug away at my reading’s, and will focus more on prayer than anything.

2 responses to “Speed reading and other thoughts

  1. Pingback: The Star Wars Saga and the Bible… Yeah, I’m a nerd « No Apologizing

  2. Pingback: It’s Okay… Don’t give up!!! « No Apologizing

Leave a Reply

