No Apologizing

"But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect." 1 Peter 3:15

Dear whoever cares…


Yep...I root for these guys...

Please…allow me to lament for just a moment.  As I was watching Mizzou get trounced by Cincy in the first round of the tourney I thought to myself, isn’t that typical.  I mean after all why should any team that I actively root for want to go out on the floor and fight for a victory.  For that matter why should any team I root for even SNIFF a championship.  Think about this for a second.  The three major teams I pull for are Mizzou, the Chiefs, and (as much as I hate typing this) the Royals.  I know many of you who read this blog outside of Kansas City probably just spit out what ever you were drinking, or eating.  Stop laughing… It is true.  I root and pull for these perennial losing powerhouses. 

To be completely honest Mizzou does win more games than they lose.  But, and if you are a fan of Mizzou you can appreciate this, they always lose or choke away big games.  Anyone remember the Big 12 Championship game against Oklahoma?  I actually flew to San Antonio to watch that travesty under the delusion  we stood a chance.  How about Tyus Edney?  What about losing to NAVY!  Winning one road game in the Big 12 this year…really?  Not showing up in the Big 12 tourney?  Yes….I am the one dummy that actually picked them to beat Cincy.  Told you I was a homer.  I can count on Mizzou losing games that matter.  Always.

The Chiefs…what can I say about this team.  I bleed red and gold.  I can honestly say that I was at one of the last two playoff wins they had….in 1993.  This was the last real time I had any sense that we could actually win a championship…the AFC championship.  Since then…a decade of losing, blowing playoff games, and unfulfilled playoff expectations.  I have some sense of hope here…though I have been beaten into submission.  Show me some victories.

And then there is the Royals.  Anyone who knows ANYTHING about baseball knows the agony about rooting for this minor league team.  Every year we are getting one step closer to be competitive in baseball.  Unfortunately that year is always a couple of years from now when our talented minor leaguers come up.  2011 is going to be a terrible year for the Royals…but you wait for 2012 or 2013 and we will be good and competing for a championship.  Unfortunately, this logic has been used since the early 90’s.  The Royals are the best minor league team in the Major’s.  I guess that counts for something.

I thought of all of this while watching Mizzou fall all over themselves to blow that game to Cincy.  I got angry.  WHY CAN’T I ROOT FOR A WNNER?!  WHEN WILL I BE ABLE TO ROOT FOR A TEAM THAT CAN ADVANCE TO A CHAMPIONSHIP GAME AND WIN?!

After about a half an hour of pacing back and forth in my basement I came to a realization.  I am actually a part of the winningest team in the history of man.  I am part of a team that has not and never will lose.  Jesus didn’t choke when decision time came.  When He stood by Pilate to be judged, he didn’t turn to Pilate and the crowd and say, “Nah…I was just kidding.”  You want to talk about one of the all time clutch performances look at what Christ did and tell me he didn’t pull it off.  At any one moment during that whole event he could have ended it.  He could have walked away.  But when the pressure came Jesus stood and delivered!  Folks, all of us who love sports have been disappointed by a sports teams we root for.  Keep in mind though that, as a Christian, you play for the winningest team in all of humanity.  In the end…GOD wins.  He is the ultimate champion; He has an overall record of like a ba-jillion – 0.  Nothing can compare to that.

God is undefeated.  Jesus, stood and delivered, in his toughest match.  He stands and delivers every day for you.  When people talk about having victory through Christ (NOT the Kenneth Copeland victory) it isn’t metaphorical!  His victories come every day,  in big ways, and in little ways.  But Christ remains the UNDEFEATED champion of your salvation.  Nothing and I literally mean NOTHING can defeat him.  Do you want that?  Do you want to be a part of a champion?  Do you want to play for a champion?

For non-believers on the fence…you are seeing the game being played.  You are watching as the home team wins EVERYDAY!  But unlike any other sports team that you have seen, you don’t have to be athletic to join it.    If you want in…YOU ARE IN!  But…you have to want it.  YOU have to commit.  Repent!  Turn from your sins, and trust in the only undefeated Champion of all time.  That victory can be yours.  There will never be any upsets.  You don’t have to worry about being disappointed in your team (cf. Romans 10:9-11, NASB).

For Christians…I simply ask this one question.  If you are part of the team are you in the game?  If not…what are you waiting for?  GET IN THE GAME.

Leave a Reply

